Sunday, July 24, 2011

Norwegian Composers On Spotify

"The greatest of all the accomplishments of 20th century science has been the discovery of human ignorance" — Lewis Thomas

The tragedy in Norway this week once again reminds us that ignorance is still the greatest enemy of humanity. All I can hope is, we may reach a better understanding of each other through the power of music.

This playlist features 20 Norwegian composers: Ole Bull (1810-1880), Johan Svendsen (1840-1911), Edvard Grieg (1843-1907), Hjalmar Borgstrøm (1864-1925), Johan Halvorsen (1864-1935), Fartein Valen (1887-1952), Harald Sæverud (1897-1992), Eivind Groven (1901-1977), Geirr Tveitt (1908-1981), Edvard Hagerup Bull (1922-), Finn Mortensen (1922-1983), Edvard Fliflet Bræin (1924-1976), Arne Nordheim (1931-2010), Alfred Janson (1937-), Ketil Hvoslef (1939-), Lasse Thoresen (1949-), Rolf Wallin (1957-), Ståle Kleiberg (1958-), Dagfinn Koch (1964-), Asbjørn Blokkum Flø (1973-).

Here's the Spotify playlist:  Norwegian Composers (20 tracks, total time: 2 hours) Tracks are arranged by composers chronologically, as listed above. This playlist is inspired by Alex Ross's tweet. Further listening: Fartein Valen: The Four Symphonies.